MSUNER Teacher Study Group Grant

Montclair State University Network for Educational Teacher Study Group Grant
Graphic: Montclair State University Logo

Six years ago, a cohort of five Bergen County School Districts  (Emerson, Pascack Valley Regional, Paramus, River Dell, Northern Valley) formed the The Growth Learning Assessment Mindset (GLAM) Consortium which involves over 50 teachers and administrations and works towards the goals of:

  • Providing professional development for faculty and administration related to “enduring” GLAM standards; assessment of/for learning as well as growth learning and mastery learning.

  • Connecting GLAM philosophies and practices to help provide Social-Emotional Learning components as part of instruction and assessment.

  • Having teachers create and/or further develop learning progressions and competency-based units in their classes.

  • Providing the opportunity for teacher advocacy and allowing teachers to explore policy/procedure recommendations for their districts and the collective GLAM group.

For the 2022-23 school year, the Pascack Valley Regional High School district has teachers participating in the GLAM project. The group was recently awarded a Teacher Study Group Grant from the Montclair State University Network for Educational Renewal.  This $500 grant will be used to purchase books and research materials to support the ongoing learning of the teachers and administrators who are involved.

They include: Dr. Barry Bachenheimer (Director of Curriculum, Instruction, & Assessment), Ms. Megan Graziano (Supervisor of Science and Tech Ed.), Ms. Valerie Mattessich (Supervisor of English, Art & Libraries), Dr. Mark Russo (Supervisor of Math and Computer Science), Ms. Jessica Sachs-Serfess (English, PHHS), Ms. Deena Mahmoud (English, PVHS), Ms. Michelle Chakansky (English, PVHS), Ms. Roni Silberstein (Math, PVHS), Ms. Elise Naramore (Science, PHHS), Kelsey Brentnall (Science, PVHS), and Dr. David Frangiosa (Science, PHHS).

Edit header links and footer links here
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.